Next ATHRA Vic members meeting is on Thursday 28th November

The next ATHRA Vic members meeting is on Thursday 28th November , 6pm at Hawthorn. (4th Thursday every 3 months)
This will be another great opportunity to get an update and ask questions on what’s happening in rail preservation both here in Victoria and around Australia.
The Victrack VRSS team will be joining us to discuss the project – where its currently at and where its heading.
There will be updates on our Vic move to ONRSR for all the remaining TSV regulated organisations and an update on the joint ATHRA/ONRSR working group looking at some really progressive changes in the SMS environment
Nationally, ATRQ in Queensland have recently voted to come on board – yet another state based rail heritage group to merge with ATHRA and dissolve their existing organisation.
This is more great news and demonstrates the growing support for the sector to work together to deliver mutual benefits to all our organisations.
Depending on time, we should also have quick updates from each T&H group on their key recent activities and upcoming events or projects.
Plenty for all, look forward to seeing you there – please pass on to others in your group as all are welcome.


Steve Strangward

Association of Tourist & Heritage Rail Australia Inc 

Victoria finally migrates to ONRSR

Message from ONRSR CEO Sue McCarrey

It is with great delight that I can finally announce that the Rail Safety Legislation Amendment (National Services Delivery and Related Reforms) Bill 2019  passed the Victorian Upper House last Tuesday 29th October paving the way for transition to take place.

Taking into consideration required Parliamentary processes we will formally transition on Monday 2nd December. Rail safety will be overseen by TSV until 11.59pm on Sunday 1st December with ONRSR taking up at 12.00am (midnight) on Monday 2nd December.

Further information will follow, however the move will take place to the new ONRSR Melbourne office at Level 10, 565 Bourke St on that Monday.

It has been a long journey for us to become a fully national regulator and we thank you for your patience.

Sue McCarrey

Chief Executive

Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator