Vic members meeting – Thursday 28th Feb

Next ATHRA Victorian members meeting is at the Hawthorn Tram Depot, on Thursday 28th Feb at 6pm.

As discussed at last Novembers meeting we have invited ONRSR to come along and discuss Accreditation.  They will be updating us on the migration (later in 2019) from TSV to ONRSR and the national regulators focus for T&H in 2019.  Time will be allowed for plenty of Q&A from the membership attending.  This is a great opportunity for the members to send along their staff or volunteers who have any involvement with developing, implementing, maintaining  or using their SMS.

We are expecting to have Julie Bullas and Dave James from Adelaide in attendance. For those of you who haven’t met them here is a quick intro.

Julie Bullas – Executive Director, Policy, Reform and Stakeholder Engagement

David James – National Manager Regulatory Operations

It should be an informative and engaging evening so I encourage you all to attend and feel free to bring along any of your Board members and Volunteers who have an interest in this area.

We shall also be providing the usual sector update briefing session and discussion.

Meetings continue to be quarterly on the 4th Thursday of the month starting at 6pm       -28th February, 23rd May, 22nd August and 28th November

For further information contact Steve Strangward at

ONRSR safety report 2017/18 – T&H

ONRSR has released their safety report for 2017/18

Some of the more relevant items to T&H sector can be found here –  tandh pages from 17789-onrsr-safety-report 201718

In particular we draw your attention to their focus on the TOURIST AND HERITAGE SECTOR, SAFETY MANAGEMENT CAPABILITY.  This will be further reinforced by ONRSR during 2019 in all states.

For the full report go to

ATHRA continues to work with ONRSR on the development of improved Safety Management Systems for our sector and an improved understanding of our collective responsibilities in the running of our T&H organisations.

For more information contact your state ATHRA board member.